Experian Releases 2019 Global Identity and Fraud Report (Asia-Pacific Edition)

Experian Releases 2019 Global Identity and Fraud Report (Asia-Pacific Edition)
  • Chinese consumers demand greater security on top of convenient digital experiences
  • Security methods enabled by new technologies and advanced authentication solutions instil greater online trust
  • Out of those Chinese consumers who are willing to share personal data with organisations, 76 percent perceive a benefit in doing so

Beijing, China, April 25, 2019 – As organisations and consumers are increasingly interacting over digital channels, there is a need to establish mutual trust. Experian, the world’s leading information services company, recently released its 2019 Global Identity and Fraud Report Asia-Pacific (APAC) edition. Based on insights from 6,000 consumers and over 590 businesses in APAC (China, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam and Australia), the report examines how consumer trust is built in today’s digital-obsessed environment and how are businesses measuring up. It also highlights that trusted online relationships are based on businesses providing both a secure environment and seamless consumer experiences.

 

Consumers have higher than ever expectations for their experiences online and demand better and more secure services. Experian’s Identity and Fraud Report provides insights into local consumers’ top concerns during their online experience that would enable Chinese businesses to better understand their customers and meet their needs.

 

“For the most part, businesses are doing a good job of delivering their products and services via the digital channel but now is the time to look at how businesses and consumers trust the online channels and how can they create greater value,” said Jian Huang, Managing Director of Experian Greater China. “With increasing fraud incidents, businesses have an imperative to deploy advanced technologies, to protect consumers’ information and at the same time, enhance their experiences.”

Chinese consumers demand greater security on top of convenient digital experiences

The rapid development of digital channels has changed the way consumers interact with businesses, moving from face-to-face transactions to anonymous relationships built on trust. Difficult to achieve and earned over time, trusted online relationships are based on businesses providing a secure environment and a convenient customer experience. APAC consumers are most concerned about “security” during their online experience, especially in China where 83 percent of surveyed consumers see security as the most important element of their online experience (the highest in APAC).

 

On the contrary, most APAC businesses tend to focus on offering a convenient experience first. 58 percent of businesses believe it’s better to err on the side of permission and, as a result, risk the cost of fraudulent transactions as part of doing business online to create a more convenient online experience. By comparison, 54 percent use consumers’ information to create a more secure transaction environment.

 

Compared with APAC, Chinese businesses pay more attention to the security of customers’ digital experience. Only 48 percent of surveyed Chinese businesses tend to err on the side of permission, and driven by the desire to make consumers feel more secure in the transaction, 57 percent are collecting more personal data.

 

The traditional notion that cyber security and convenience are two opposing forces is outdated. By increasing investment, businesses can combat fraud while providing consumers a seamless online experience. Only in this way can strong mutual trust be established between businesses and consumers. Experian’s identity and fraud business comprises of nearly 300 fraud experts globally working to protect people’s identities and fight fraud for businesses across multiple sectors, including government, healthcare, financial services, retail/e-commerce, insurance and telecommunications.

Security methods enabled by new technologies and advanced authentication solutions instil greater online trust

While consumers have continued confidence in traditional methods, consumers that have been exposed to advanced authentication methods like physical or behavioural biometrics, account information, artificial intelligence and customer identification programmes tend to have a greater confidence in these methods than consumers without prior exposure.

 

The top four security methods that APAC consumers encounter today are: passwords, PIN codes, physical biometrics and security questions. Three quarters of surveyed APAC consumers find high confidence in their bank’s security measures if they encounter biometrics – whether physical or behavioural – during an online banking activity.

 

Methods

Encountered In Past 6 Months

Rank

Highest Confidence

Rank

Device intelligence

60%

1

9%

1

Physical biometrics

52%

1

28%

1

Behavioural biometrics

35%

2

13%

1

 

Data obtained from surveyed Chinese consumers on new technologies and advanced authentication solutions

 

Today, a higher share of businesses in China is adopting advanced authentication methods than businesses in more developed markets such as Japan and Singapore. At least one third of surveyed Chinese consumers encounter advanced authentication methods regularly, and 80 percent regard biometrics within the top ten features that increase their online banking experience.

Chinese consumers are willing to share their personal data if they perceive a benefit in doing so

Most APAC consumers are willing to share personal data, such as financial, commercial and biometric data or contact information, with organisations to gain a better future digital experience. However, most Chinese consumers are significantly more hesitant about sharing. 37 percent of Chinese consumers are not willing at all to share their data (the highest in APAC).

 

Out of those who are willing to share personal data with organisations, 76 percent perceive a benefit in doing so. Therefore, if there are opportunities for businesses to provide a better digital experience that is secure, consumers may be more willing to share their personal data.

Transparency is another key determinant in building mutual trust

A majority of APAC consumers are aware that businesses are collecting and using their personal information. They have greater trust in businesses that are transparent about the use of their information, with 78% of Chinese consumers agreeing to the statement. 62 percent of surveyed Chinese businesses plan to invest more in transparency-inspired initiatives such as educating consumers about the use of their information, providing the consumer with a sense of control over the use of their information and communicating service terms more concisely (higher than the APAC average of 58 percent).

Government and banks are the most trusted organisations

60 percent of surveyed APAC consumers place a high level of trust in banks and insurance companies in handling their personal data, followed by government agencies (57 percent) and payment service providers (56 percent).

 

However, Chinese consumers are different as they place the highest trust in government agencies at a reported 66 percent (the second highest in APAC), followed by banks and insurance companies then payment system providers. It’s worth noting that as payment system providers are becoming increasingly integrated into the world of mobile banking and electronic/mobile commerce, this is likely changing the perception of Chinese consumers.

 

“The fast-growing adoption of smartphones and increased internet penetration have created an ecosystem that enables consumers to embrace digital technology across multiple areas of their life. Unlocking an entirely new digital lifestyle is rewarding for both businesses and consumers, but it comes with challenges,” Huang added. “As a world-leading information services company, Experian is committed to partnering with businesses to combat fraud and automate their decisions with new data and analytical tools, thus successfully coping with the increasingly fierce market competition and the opportunity of winning customers’ trust.”

 

The full Global Identity and Fraud Report - Asia-Pacific edition can be downloaded here.

Read full article

Experian

By Experian 04/25/2019

Related Articles

Experian invests in Vserv to enable friction-free digital onboarding experience of consumers for the BFSI sector
Experian invests in Vserv to enable friction-free digital onboarding experience of consumers for the BFSI sector

This investment is in line with Experian’s vision to boost financial inclusion by enabling a friction-free digital on-boarding experience to consumers.

Learn more
Experian brings world-class technology conference to Singapore with inaugural VISION2020 Asia Pacific
Experian brings world-class technology conference to Singapore with inaugural VISION2020 Asia Pacific

VISION2020 Asia Pacific features top senior executives, innovation experts and industry thought leaders; Lewis Hamilton and Sachin Tendulkar will attend as guest speakers.

Learn more
Acquisition of controlling interest in Malaysian credit bureau ‘RAMCI’
Acquisition of controlling interest in Malaysian credit bureau ‘RAMCI’

Experian, the global information services company, is pleased to announce that it has acquired a controlling interest in RAM Credit Information Sdn. Bhd (RAMCI), a leading credit bureau in Malaysia.

Learn more

益博睿发布2019年亚太地区欺诈与身份识别洞察报告

益博睿发布2019年亚太地区欺诈与身份识别洞察报告
  • 中国大陆消费者相较于数字化体验的便捷性,更看重安全性
  • 运用到新技术和先进的身份验证解决方案的安全措施可以提高中国大陆消费者的数字化信任度
  • 在愿意与企业分享其个人数据的中国大陆消费者中,76%感觉可从中获益

2019425日,中国北京——随着组织和消费者越来越多地通过数字渠道进行互动,建立双边信任关系成为必然。全球领先的信息服务公司益博睿近期发布了《2019年亚太地区欺诈与身份识别洞察报告》。报告根据中国大陆、中国香港、印度、印度尼西亚、日本、马来西亚、新西兰、新加坡、泰国、越南和澳大利亚的6000名消费者和590多家企业的见解,研究了在当今高频的数字化环境中,消费者信任的构建方式以及企业如何对之加以衡量,并指出可信赖的在线关系取决于企业是否能在提供安全环境的同时提供无缝消费者体验。

 

报告显示,消费者对数字化体验有着远高于以往的预期,他们期待更优质、更安全的服务。对于中国大陆的企业来说,益博睿的《欺诈与身份识别洞察报告》提供了对本地消费者在线体验中最关注问题的见解,使企业可以更好地了解客户并满足他们的需求。

 

“之前,在很大程度上而言,企业只要通过数字渠道将产品和服务传递给消费者便可认为做好了自己的本职工作,但如今企业也许是时候开始思考,数字渠道应该如何取信于消费者,以及如何创造更大的价值。”益博睿大中华区CEO黄坚表示,“在欺诈事件日益增多的今天,企业急需部署先进技术,在保护消费者信息安全的同时,提升他们的体验。”

相较于数字化体验的便捷性,消费者更看重安全性

数字化渠道的快速发展改变了企业与消费者互动的方式,从面对面交易转变为建立在信任基础上的匿名关系。然而,可信赖的数字化关系构建难度高、耗时长,需要企业提供安全的网络环境和便捷的客户体验。在数字化体验中,亚太地区的消费者最看重安全性,83%接受调查的中国大陆消费者认同这一点,居亚太首位。

 

然而,亚太地区的企业整体更倾向于首先提供便捷体验。58%的企业相信应优先提供准入许可,即使这要冒遭遇欺诈交易的风险,它们视这类风险为开展在线业务所必须承担的一部分,以创造更便捷的数字化体验。相比之下,54%的企业通过运用消费者信息来创建更为安全的交易环境。

 

相较亚太地区,中国大陆企业更加重视客户数字化体验中的安全性。在受访中国大陆企业中,仅48%的企业倾向于优先提供准入许可,而57%的企业通过收集更多个人数据来赋予消费者交易更安全的感受。

 

将网络安全性和便捷性视为两股对立力量的传统观念已经过时。通过加大投入,企业可以打击欺诈行为,同时为消费者提供无缝的在线体验。只有这样,企业和消费者之间才能建立稳固的互信关系。益博睿反欺诈和身份认证团队在全球范围内有近300名专家级人员, 致力于保护客户身份, 有效协助政府、医疗、金融服务、零售/电子商务、保险、电信等多个领域的客户打击欺诈活动。

运用到新技术和先进的身份验证解决方案的安全措施可以提高数字化信任度

报告显示,尽管消费者对传统方式仍有信心,但那些接触过物理或行为生物特征识别、账户信息、人工智能及客户身份鉴定程序的消费者,会比无接触经验的消费者对此类先进方式更加信赖。

 

消费者目前最常遇见的四种安全验证方式为:密码、PIN码、物理生物特征识别以及安全问题。在整个亚太地区,3/4的消费者认为,如果在网上银行操作中有引入生物特征识别(无论是物理性还是行为性),均可使其对银行安全性措施有更强信心。

 

方式

过去六个月内经历过

亚太区排名

最具信任度

亚太区排名

设备智能

60%

首位

9%

首位

物理生物特征识别

52%

首位

28%

首位

行为生物特征识别

35%

第二位

13%

首位

 

中国大陆消费者关于新技术和先进的身份验证解决方案的受访数据

 

如今,先进的身份验证方式正在中国大陆迅速施行,甚至领先于发达地区,如新加坡、日本等。报告显示,至少1/3的中国大陆消费者采用先进验证方式已是常规操作,同时,80%的受访中国大陆消费者将生物特征识别列入到了可增进其网上银行体验的十大功能之中。

消费者如果感觉可从中获益,便愿意分享其个人数据

报告显示,亚太地区多数的消费者愿与组织机构分享财务、商业、生物特征数据、联络信息等个人数据,以便在未来可以享受更好的数字化体验。然而在中国大陆,多数消费者对分享个人数据持犹豫不决的态度。有37%的受访中国大陆消费者完全不愿意分享其数据,居亚太首位。

 

在愿意与企业分享其个人数据的中国大陆消费者中,76%的消费者认为,愿意分享的原因是可以藉此获得更佳的使用体验。因此,如果企业有机会提供更安全、更优质的数字化体验,那么消费者可能会更加愿意分享自己的个人数据。

透明度是构建互信关系的另一大决定因素

很多消费者已意识到企业正在收集和使用他们的个人信息,他们对能够公开透明地使用其信息的企业更加信赖,在接受调查的中国大陆消费者中,78%认同此观点。62%的中国大陆企业正在计划加大投入以主动提升用户信息使用的透明度,高于亚太区的58%。企业激励透明度提升的方案主要包括:教育消费者其个人信息会被如何使用,让消费者感受到对自身信息的掌控权,以及更简洁地沟通服务条款。

政府机构和银行最受信任

报告显示,亚太地区60%的受访消费者对银行和保险公司处理他们的个人数据给予高度信任,紧随其后的是政府机构(57%)和支付服务提供商(56%)。

 

然而中国大陆消费者有所不同,他们对政府机构最为信赖,这一比例高达66%,居亚太第二位。银行和保险公司,以及支付系统提供商,分别居中国大陆消费者信任度排名的第二和第三位。值得注意的是,由于支付系统提供商正日渐整合到手机银行和电子移动商务领域,这可能会逐步改变其在中国大陆消费者观念中的地位。

 

“智能手机快速增长的采用率和不断提升的互联网普及率造就了这样一种生态体系,身处其中的消费者得以在生活中众多领域享受数字技术带来的便利。无论对企业还是消费者,解锁全新的数字生活方式都将带来丰厚回报,但是这一过程也伴随着挑战。”黄坚补充道,“作为全球领先的信息服务公司,益博睿致力于通过新数据和分析工具来帮助企业打击欺诈并实现决策自动化,从而成功应对日渐激烈的市场竞争,赢得客户的信任。”

阅读这篇文章

Experian

益博睿于2019年4月25日发布

相关文章

益博睿研究报告:外籍家庭佣工在为香港经济作出强有力贡献之余普惠金融程度仍有待提高
益博睿研究报告:外籍家庭佣工在为香港经济作出强有力贡献之余普惠金融程度仍有待提高

由益博睿委托进行研究和撰写的《家庭服务的价值:外籍家庭佣工对亚洲经济增长和家庭幸福的主要贡献》报告显示,在香港,82%的外籍家庭佣工没有自己的银行账户,83%的外籍家庭佣工处于欠债状态。

阅读文章
益博睿 X 实验室将为10亿无银行账户的亚洲区消费者提供金融服务支持
益博睿 X 实验室将为10亿无银行账户的亚洲区消费者提供金融服务支持

X 实验室是益博睿在亚太区第一个用于开发行业尖端解决方案的孵化器与协作中心,以解决该地区普惠金融等迫切的经济与社会问题。

阅读文章