Case Study: Cleveland Police partners with Experian to support positive policing and to save ten years’ worth of work

Case Study: Cleveland Police partners with Experian to support positive policing and to save ten years’ worth of work

Background:

The first of its kind, Cleveland Police’s ‘Golden Nominal’ project is an award-winning initiative which showcases how the power of better data positively impacts on policing. Such was its innovative nature, that the project was recognised at a national level by the Home Office, who provided co-funding from its Innovation Fund.

 

Challenges:

Cleveland Police collect huge amounts of data, often in challenging circumstances. The result was a very high number of duplicate and incomplete person records within their main policing system. The scale of the issue was vast and impossible to quantify with 1,867,000 person records in their system vs. an estimated population in the Cleveland policing area of less than 600,000. Solving this would be a major breakthrough in two areas:

  • Removing the need to search through duplicate records would provide a holistic view of one person and their interactions. This can better expose any potential threat that they pose to the community or how vulnerable they may be and enable a response that’s far quicker and more appropriate to the situation.
  • Significantly less time would be required to manually link and manage duplicates, saving valuable resources at a time when the Force has seen cuts of 25% in the last 8 years and 500 fewer police officers.

Solution:

Convinced of its transformative potential, Cleveland Police chose to partner with Experian, who were best placed to meet the requirements through providing a combination of software and data. As the first of its kind, it solves an issue hindering many forces. It essentially provides a ‘Golden Nominal’ of each person record, a concept commonly referred to as a ‘Single Customer View’ or ‘Single Citizen View’ in other sectors.

  • Cleaning and matching existing data: A Golden Nominal database uses Experian verified reference data to clean existing data and then deduplicate in Experian’s data management platform.
  • Accessibility to the Golden Nominal at the front end: The Golden Nominal database and Full Electoral Role was made accessible to call handlers who can now instantly look up, assess and match back to an existing record or create new ones using a comprehensive and accurate data source.
  • More accurate MoPI response: The Experian tool also provides flexible business reporting and insight for better deployment of resources and delivery on MoPI (Management of Police Information) legislation requirements.

Results:

According to Cleveland Police, the results have been phenomenal – with a dramatic reduction in the growth of new duplicate records by 100,000 per year.

 

“Experian’s data assets have made all the difference. One particular highlight has been the date of birth append. We’ve saved 10 years’ worth of manual work for one data quality staff member because of the automatic merging it’s allowed – that’s staggering.”

 

A true ‘breakthrough’, it’s created huge opportunities to serve the community better and identify those most vulnerable far more quickly.

  • Poor data quality was estimated to be costing over £250k per year i.e. inputting, processing, reviewing and amending data. The solution means these costs are now starting to reduce significantly.
  • Response to the public is quicker and more appropriate as call handlers have instant access to existing data. New records are created from an accurate data source, which requires little to no inputting.
  • It’s impacting public safety in cases where having a holistic view reduces the risk that vital information may be missed. One such example is the internal police vetting team who process security clearance applications for those wanting to work within the Policing arena. They estimate the time taken to resolve data quality issues has reduced from 1.5 hours per day to just 15 minutes.

“ Data is central to policing – we need it to protect people and to prevent crime. The Golden Nominal solution genuinely drives efficiency and helps us to do really important police work more quickly, at a time of austerity. Behind the scenes it’s transforming the way we do business and we are seeing the impact on our culture, financial efficiency and, importantly, our ability to serve to the community.”

 

— Alastair Simpson, Chief Superintendent for the North East Regional Special Operations Unit, Cleveland Police

 

Read full article

Experian

By Experian 04/24/2019

Related Articles

Responding to COVID-19: The impacts and outlook for consumers and lending markets
Responding to COVID-19: The impacts and outlook for consumers and lending markets

We believe that by working together, and bringing you powerful data and tools, we can help you and your customers come back from this crisis strong, secure and ready for…

Learn more
CGTN BOSS TALK | Experian bets on China’s further opening up
CGTN BOSS TALK | Experian bets on China’s further opening up

During the Two Sessions, Experian was exclusively interviewed by CGTN BOSS TALK and shared our views on hot topics such as the new Foreign Investment Law and China's economic outlook…

Learn more
Case Study: PowerCurve Originations helped Volkswagen Doğuş Finans increase application processing capacity by 25%
Case Study: PowerCurve Originations helped Volkswagen Doğuş Finans increase application processing capacity by 25%

PowerCurve Originations allows your business to acquire new customers more effectively, improve customer service and realise faster decisioning.

Learn more

案例分享:益博睿单一客户检视助力英国克利夫兰警方节省10年工作量并积极维持治安

案例分享:益博睿单一客户检视助力英国克利夫兰警方节省10年工作量并积极维持治安

项目背景:

克利夫兰警方的“黄金名义“(Golden Nominal)项目在同类项目中首次展示了数据改良的力量如何给治安带来积极影响。因其革新特性,该项目获得英国内政部的国家级别认可,并获得其创新基金的共同资助。

 

面临挑战:

克利夫兰警方通常在充满挑战的情况下收集大量数据。因而在其主要监管系统内产生大量重复和不完整的个人记录。这一问题规模庞大,且难以定量,在系统内的个人记录有186.7万条,而克利夫兰治安区域内的人口约莫不到60万。若能解决这一问题,可在两个方面获得重大突破:

  • 免去在重复记录中进行搜索,获得对个人及其交互关系的整体认知。有利于发现可能对社区不利的任何潜在威胁,其脆弱程度如何,并针对具体形势给出更为迅捷合理的应对措施。
  • 大幅减少人工联系和管理重复记录所需的时间,一次性节省可观资源。在过去8年中,当地警力已削减25%,警员数量不到500人。

尽管克利夫兰警方也曾通过第三方匹配工具试图减少重复数量,但收效甚微。这是因为许多记录并不包含足够准确的信息以进行高水平匹配。警方决心找到一种以前瞻方式消除问题的替代解决方案。

解决方案:

益博睿凭借软件及数据组合有能力提供最符合要求的方案。出于对益博睿革新潜力的信任,克利夫兰警方选择与益博睿展开合作。这一方案首次解决了众多困扰警方的问题。该方案为每条个人记录给出了一个“黄金名义”,这一概念在其他行业常被称为“单一客户检视”或“单一公民检视”。

  • 清理和匹配现有数据:黄金名义数据库使用益博睿经验证的参考数据来清理现有数据,并在益博睿的数据管理平台中去除重复信息。运用智能可逆匹配规则来生产最多数量的可信匹配。针对因信息有限或质量低下而无法合并的记录,益博睿提供了一个解决方案——为超过10万条此类记录附加了出生日期。如此便能识别出更多可以自动归并的重复记录,无需采用冗长的人工审核流程。
  • 黄金名义在前端的可接入性:黄金名义数据库和完全选举角色(Full Electoral Role)可使接警处理人员获得全面准确的数据来源,以即刻查找、评估和匹配现有记录或创建新数据。
  • 更准确的MoPI响应:益博睿的工具也可针对改善资源调度和MoPI(警方信息管理)立法要求的交付提供灵活的业务报告和洞察。一个例子是对MoPI3级记录的自动删除。警方必须将犯下或据称犯下轻微罪行的罪犯的记录联系起来,因为它可能标记出了存在多项犯罪记录的严重罪犯。对数据的更清晰把握可避免此类罪犯被遗漏的风险。

项目成效:

据克利夫兰警方称,这一努力取得了非凡的成果——新重复记录大幅减少,达到了每年10万条。

 

“益博睿的数据质量解决方案让一切迥然不同。尤其值得一提的就是出生日期附加功能。我们仅通过自动合并即可节省一个数据质量管理职员10年的人工工作量,这实在是令人震惊。”

 

这是一场真正的“突破”,其创造出了大量更好服务社区、更快识别薄弱环节的绝佳机会。

  • 据估计,糟糕的数据治理花费的成本每年超过25万英镑,包括数据输入、处理、审核和修复。该解决方案能显著降低这些费用。
  • 随着接警处理人员对现有数据获得即刻接入权限,警方对公众的响应变得更为快速合理。新记录是基于准确的数据源创建的,几乎不需要输入。
  • 其对公共安全也有利,整体视角的建立可降低错失关键信息的风险。举个例子:警方内部审核团队的职责是为那些想要从事治安领域工作的人处理安全许可申请。据他们估计,解决数据质量问题后,所需时间已从每天1.5小时缩短到仅15分钟。

“数据是治安的重中之重,我们需要通过掌握数据来保护民众,防范犯罪。黄金名义解决方案在真正意义上提高了效率,帮助我们在紧缩时期更为迅速地实施重要治安工作。它在幕后改变我们的运作方式,并且我们可以切实感受到它对我们文化、财政效率,以及更为重要的,对服务社区能力所带来的改变。”

—— Alastair Simpson, 克利夫兰警方东北地区特种行动队总警司

阅读这篇文章

Experian

益博睿于2019年4月24日发布

相关文章

“敢叫日月换新天”:“开放银行”带来的社会金融赋能
“敢叫日月换新天”:“开放银行”带来的社会金融赋能

2018年以来,伴随着金融科技创新、银行业务转型的发展,一个数字化、智能化、开放性的银行3.0时代正在到来。

阅读文章
金融机构的四大技术方案
金融机构的四大技术方案

面临市场的各种变数,技术无疑会作为具有竞争力的独特要素而发挥重要作用。

阅读文章
身份识别的演变
身份识别的演变

益博睿高级副总裁、反欺诈与身份识别业务负责人Kathleen Peters谈数据和技术如何帮助企业做出合适的反欺诈决策、保护客户身份并提升客户体验。

阅读文章