Case Study: Royal Trinity Hospice choose Experian to help improve the delivery accuracy of fundraising communications

Case Study: Royal Trinity Hospice choose Experian to help improve the delivery accuracy of fundraising communications

Situation:

 

Royal Trinity Hospice is the United Kingdom’s oldest hospice and provides specialist palliative care. With increased public awareness of fundraising activity, Trinity needed to ensure that their data was accurate so that they only mail correct addresses and ensure they meet the necessary data protection requirements.

Challenges:

 

Whilst Trinity’s data is regularly updated internally and addresses are postcode matched with Royal Mail when they are set up, the on-going updating of those who have changed address was more sporadic.

 

Trinity recognised that it is vitally important to regularly review the quality of their data. Being a hospice they ran the risk of upsetting bereaved relatives if their data quality was poor and inappropriate letters were sent (mailing a deceased person’s family). If this happens it could potentially stop donations and support to the charity.

 

Solution:

 

As part of Trinity’s on-going aim to ensure that they have accurate information, are cost effective in their communications and are only mailing those people who want their newsletter a full data cleanse was the first step towards this goal.

 

In 2016 the Head of Fundraising at Trinity Marc Stowell approached Experian with regards to a data cleanse. Trinity have a fundraising database of 38 thousand individual records and 8 thousand business records and required these to be cleaned.

 

The data they wished to cleanse was chosen because it was a list of individuals who Trinity send regular newsletters and updates to. Trinity have seen mail returned, and inaccurate or duplicate addresses in the past. Both email and address cleansing was carried out as well as providing Trinity with mosaic data. Together with Experian, Trinity were able to improve the quality and accuracy of their data.

 

Results:

 

The main impact of having cleaner data means Trinity will be able to reduce waste and costs by alleviating unwanted mail. From a charity perspective, cost savings equal more spend on charitable activities. In addition, now that clean data exists on the main supporter database, the charity can commence integration of other event specific contact details where the appropriate data protection has been sought. The need to ensure that they started with clean data was imperative.

 

The work that has been undertaken by Experian has been most helpful. Now that this particular exercise has been completed, Trinity can move on to further appropriate analysis with the overall aim of continuing to deliver a positive experience for all our supporters.

 

“The less waste of mailing unknown and gone away’s means that we can direct more philanthropic support towards the care and support provided to our patients, their families and carers.”

 

—Marc Stowell, Head of Fundraising, Royal Trinity Hospice

Read full article

Experian

By Experian 06/17/2019

Related Articles

2022 Global Insights Report – Wave 5
2022 Global Insights Report – Wave 5

Read about why businesses need to invest in technology to keep up with consumer expectations online in our latest research.

Learn more
Forrester Study – Drive speed and accuracy with emerging technology and alternative data
Forrester Study – Drive speed and accuracy with emerging technology and alternative data

Read our study with Forrester to find out why it's apparent that poor credit decisions are negatively impacting customers’ financial situations.

Learn more
2021 Global Insights Report – Wave 4
2021 Global Insights Report – Wave 4

Read about why businesses need to invest in technology to keep up with consumer expectations online in our latest research.

Learn more

案例分享:益博睿助力英国皇家三一安宁疗护机构提高数据质量的同时有效降低成本支出

案例分享:益博睿助力英国皇家三一安宁疗护机构提高数据质量的同时有效降低成本支出

项目背景:

 

英国皇家三一安宁疗护机构是英国历史最为悠久的临终关怀机构,提供专业级疗护服务。随着公众日益关注募款活动,该机构需要确保所有数据足够准确,以便仅对正确的地址寄送邮件,此外还要满足必要的数据保护要求。

面临挑战:

 

尽管英国皇家三一安宁疗护机构会内部定期更新机构所存数据,并会在建立信息时确保地址与皇家邮政编码匹配,但更改地址的情况时有发生。

 

该机构认识到定期检验其数据质量至关重要。如果因数据质量欠佳,导致寄送了不恰当的邮件(寄往已故者家庭),就可能冒犯死者亲属。一旦发生了这种情况,这些家庭很可能会终止对慈善机构的捐赠和支持。

 

解决方案:

 

确保信息准确性、提升沟通的成本效益、并保证仅将宣传册寄给有需要的人,是皇家三一安宁疗护机构的目标之一。为实现这一目标,首当其冲是进行全面数据清理。

 

2016年,该机构募款负责人Marc Stowell就数据清理意向与益博睿进行接洽。其需要清理的募款数据库包含3.8万条个人记录和8000条企业记录。

 

他们想要清理的数据是一个需要定期寄送宣传册和最新内容的个人名单。机构看到邮件退回、地址不准确和重复的情况。益博睿同时提供了电子邮件和地址清理服务,并为该机构提供了Mosaic数据。通过与益博睿的合作,该机构成功提升了数据质量及准确性。

 

项目成效:

 

更准确的数据帮助该机构减少因为不必要的邮件寄送造成的浪费和成本支出。从慈善机构的角度来看,成本降低也就意味着能在慈善活动中投入更多。此外,由于清理后的数据存储在主要支持数据库中,在已经寻得恰当的数据保护的前提下,该机构可以着手整合其他活动相关联系信息。这势必要求确保这些联系信息是清理过的。

 

该机构表示,由益博睿承担的工作成效最明显。现在这一特定需求已告一段落,三一安宁疗护机构能对数据进行进一步分析,从而继续为所有支助者带来积极体验。

 

“因信息缺失和不知所终的邮件造成的浪费越少,意味着我们可以为患者、患者家属以及护理人员提供更多的慈善支持和关爱。”

 

——Marc Stowell,皇家三一安宁疗护机构募款负责人

阅读这篇文章

Experian

益博睿于2019年6月17日发布

相关文章

“敢叫日月换新天”:“开放银行”带来的社会金融赋能
“敢叫日月换新天”:“开放银行”带来的社会金融赋能

2018年以来,伴随着金融科技创新、银行业务转型的发展,一个数字化、智能化、开放性的银行3.0时代正在到来。

阅读文章
金融机构的四大技术方案
金融机构的四大技术方案

面临市场的各种变数,技术无疑会作为具有竞争力的独特要素而发挥重要作用。

阅读文章
身份识别的演变
身份识别的演变

益博睿高级副总裁、反欺诈与身份识别业务负责人Kathleen Peters谈数据和技术如何帮助企业做出合适的反欺诈决策、保护客户身份并提升客户体验。

阅读文章