New Zealand
New Zealand New Zealand
Consumers make most of their payments by internet banking
  • 74%
    BFSI
  • 70.5%
    TELCO
  • 54.5%
    RETAIL
  • 46.5%
    BFSI
  • 39.6%
    TELCO
  • 40.7%
    RETAIL
  • A higher percentage make payments via internet banking to banks and insurance companies, telcos, and retailers, respectively, compared to the regional average
  • Impact: Anti-fraud capabilities critical to the increased digital transaction frequency and customers’ trust in banks
Australia
Australia Australia
Consumers are most satisfied with the post-fraud service of banks and insurances companies
  • More than 70% satisfaction rate compared to 59.7% on average
  • Impact: Increased trust in BFSIs
Indonesia
Indonesia Indonesia
Consumers that encountered most fraud incidents in the past 12 months
49%
34.7%

AP Average

  • 49.8% have experienced fraud at least once compared to 34.7% on average
  • Impact: Overall anti-fraud capabilities need improvement
Singapore
Singapore Singapore
Consumers have the highest trust towards government
AP Average
  • 75.5% choose government agencies, compared with 51.7% on average
  • Impact: Trust of personal data protection is centered around government agencies
Vietnam
Vietnam Vietnam
Consumers encountered most fraud incidents in retail and telco during the past 12 months
  • 55%
    TELCO
  • 54.5%
    RETAIL
  • 32.8%
    TELCO
  • 35.2%
    RETAIL
  • 55% and 54.5% have experienced fraud at least once in retail and telco, respectively, compared to 32.8% and 35.2% on average
  • Impact: Overall anti-fraud capabilities need improvement
Thailand
Thailand Thailand
Most Thai consumers believe speed and resolution are severely lacking (response/ detection speed toward fraud incidents)
AP Average
  • 60.5% think it is most important, compared to 47.7% on average
  • Impact: Response time as one of key factors to fraud management to retain customers and gain their trust
India
India India as standalone
Consumers have the largest number of shopping app accounts in the region
India
  • Average of three accounts per person
  • Impact: Highest exposure to online fraud
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hong Kong
The least percentage of consumers with high satisfaction level toward banks and insurance companies’ fraud management
AP Average
  • Only 9.7% are most satisfied compared to 21.1% on average
  • Impact: effective response towards fraud incidents to be improved
China
China China
Consumers are the most tolerant toward submitting and sharing of personal data
AP Average
  • 46.6% compared to the AP average of 27.5% are accepting of sharing personal data of existing accounts with other business entities
  • Impact: higher exposure of data privacy and risk of fraud
alert
Japan Japan as standalone
Consumers most cautious on digital accounts and transactions
50.7% Actively maintain digital accounts’ validity
27% AP Average
45.5% Do not do online bank transfers
13.5% AP Average
  • More than 70% did not encounter fraud incidents in past 12 months, compared to 50% on average
  • Impact: Relatively low risk of fraud

AI and Consumer Credit

AI and Consumer Credit

Hardly a day goes by these days without a media mention of Artificial Intelligence and / or Machine learning in the space of banking or consumer credit. Depending on the author of the article you are reading, the technology seems either to be the panacea for global financial inclusion or seemingly on its way to become our planetary (financial?) overlord. So, what is the real status of use of these new technology tools on consumer credit and what can we expect happening in the space in the near to medium term. What is the hype and the reality and what is actually actionable in the space now?

 

The consumer industry context

 

A good place to start answering these questions will be to talk of the state of consumer credit globally and the mechanics of the industry. Understanding and managing consumer risk is the core differentiator for the industry and historically has been a focus problem for the businesses to solve. The way the businesses solved it was by working on the broad principle of past consumer behaviour predicting the future and working on risk thresholds that they wanted to keep within pricing bands. This led banks and regulators to create shared data resources which tracked consumer behaviour. These shared data repositories or ‘credit bureaus’ collated consumer credit information. With this information and information available with the banks themselves, quantitative credit scores could be built which would predict ‘risk’. The scores typically used a variety of variables that significantly differentiated consumer risk. The scores were developed using regression models which have become the de facto standard in the industry.

 

 

Changes in the consumer credit industry over the last decade

 

Data growth and cheaper computing have contributed to very significant changes in the consumer industry over the last decade plus. Additionally, there has, in the period, been a significant regulatory push towards financial inclusion. These shifts in combination have been the fertile ground for AI to work on. To put some of these elements in context within the APac region for instance, of the population base of 4.2bn, about 1.2bn are credit included, which should expose the extent of the financial inclusion agenda. However, telecom growth, ecommerce and payment wallets have together created significant data assets on about 3.5bn people. In parallel, Moore’s law has brought down costs of data storage and computing exponentially over the last decade. All of this gives the AI toolkit the right set of circumstances to work on.

 

 

How does AI help consumer credit?

 

The promise of AI is to be able to apply computing power to discover complex and subtle relationships between variables, which can then be used to build models to segregate good credit from bad credit. AI tools can further help create a virtuous cycle of improving these models in the spirit of ‘machine learning’ with additional incoming data. The difference between AI models and regular regression equations is the level of complexity that the AI models can bring into interpreting consumer data. Where a typical regression equation would use perhaps 8-10 input variables in building an equation to segregate good credit from bad credit, AI algorithms would tend to use a much richer variable set. They would also be able to continually look at these variables and find developing relationships that could model human thinking in using additional data for decision making.

 

The way then machine learning is being applied to consumer credit is let a human brain modelled ‘neural network’ look at vast amounts of data and train it with (typically) known outcomes. The algorithm works on the data and iterates into a model that provides an optimal line of segregation between good and bad credit performance. This initial model is then used on new consumer application data to predict if the customer is good or bad. The advantage of the learning model is that it can keep a feedback loop alive and take on additional data coming in as the performance of this new consumer plays into the good or the bad bucket. The learning algorithm then incorporates the incremental learning into the model not unlike a human brain creating a virtuous cycle of learning.

 

All of this sounds great so what, if any, is the problem in the approach? Is this indeed the ‘better mousetrap’? The answer, as ever, is that while the theory of what we have outlined above works very well, there are still a few issues that needs to be resolved as we are moving into the practical usage of AI in consumer credit decisioning.

 

Explainability – explain better

 

The current consumer credit model that has been build by the banking system over the ages is a reasonably transparent system that the consumer has been educated on over decades, and the regulators are used to managing systemic risks around. Consumers in this model typically understand the kind of behaviours that impact their credit standing and have the right to ask for information that the banking system holds about them. Regulators similarly have a way to understand the existing models and calculate systemic risks to manage them.

 

AI models upset this model by making their decisions a ‘black box’, where it is difficult to understand the variables as well as the interactions between them that is leading to the credit decision. The output from the model is hence not ‘explainable’, which is a key issue to resolve in using AI in consumer credit decisioning. Fortunately, this is not a problem without a solution. Various approaches can be used to make these models explainable. While this is a complex field with multiple approaches, suffice to say that developing the ‘explainability’ for the models is fast becoming a key area of parallel research in AI. Practically speaking, it will be necessary to have the process of explaining the model as a key part of the AI model development exercise. However, there may be some areas of usage which may be less sensitive to explainability, which we will talk about shortly.

 

Bias

 

Consumer credit models have evolved to remove variables that intrinsically carry bias. This means that credit models currently don’t use variables like gender, ethnicity etc that have the tendency to perpetuate systemic biases. Human beings understand these variables intuitively and have had the time to evolve their understanding of this bias.

 

For example, given that there is a history in gender pay inequality, if we use gender as a variable in determining credit, all we are doing is help perpetuate this inequality. So we exclude these variables typically when we develop regression models. Machine learning has no such ‘understanding’ of history. It uses all variables that it sees as differentiating credit. In addition, given the point of the ‘black box’ we indicated earlier, it is difficult to see this bias till we feel the consequences of the model. Developing methods to supress these variables that could introduce bias is hence important in the process of evolving AI in credit decisioning. Again, there are ways to solve this. A simple way would be to introduce pre-processes that ensure that variables that are seen supporting bias can be supressed. Additionally, there may be a need to introduce further checks at the time of graduating models to actual usage.

 

Areas of usage

 

Another way of thinking about the use of AI in the space of consumer credit, would be to clearly establish clarity on the areas to apply these models with a clear understanding of the strengths and weakness of the methodology. For instance, some of the issues of explainability may not have a significant impact if the area of usage in fraud detection. Fraud detection as an area in banking typically has an exception management process. Learning algorithms in this area ensure that we are making use of the large flow of data that we typically see here. Consumers are also likely to be more understanding of the systemic benefit of this approach as they will eventually gain from the greater fraud detection accuracy. Other areas of usage that could be more acceptable to consumers, would be in predicting consumer life cycle events to better direct marketing campaigns. Again, privacy concerns being taken care of, the consumers are likely to be more understanding of the use of AI in this area.

 

In conclusion, while there may be other issues to be looked at in the use of AI in consumer decisioning, the ones in mention above are the key areas to resolve at this point. Given the undeniable benefit that the use of AI can bring to the space by harnessing consumer data to solve for financial inclusion, the efforts in all of these are well worth investing in. The question hence is less of whether AI is usable in consumer credit and more of how soon we will be able to productively harness these capabilities to address one of the biggest problems of our era, financial inclusion.

 

Mohan Jayaraman
Managing Director, Innovation & Strategy, Experian Asia Pacific

 

Read full article

Mohan Jayaraman

By Mohan Jayaraman 03/02/2020

Related Articles

Responding to COVID-19: The impacts and outlook for consumers and lending markets
Responding to COVID-19: The impacts and outlook for consumers and lending markets

We believe that by working together, and bringing you powerful data and tools, we can help you and your customers come back from this crisis strong, secure and ready for…

Learn more
CGTN BOSS TALK | Experian bets on China’s further opening up
CGTN BOSS TALK | Experian bets on China’s further opening up

During the Two Sessions, Experian was exclusively interviewed by CGTN BOSS TALK and shared our views on hot topics such as the new Foreign Investment Law and China's economic outlook…

Learn more
2020 Global Identity and Fraud Report
2020 Global Identity and Fraud Report

Businesses in Mainland China might feel confident in identifying customers and engaging with them digitally, but consumers don’t feel the same way.

Learn more
Would you like more information? Please complete the form below and a member of our team will be in touch shortly.

  • Submit

新西兰
新西兰 新西兰
消费者通过网上银行进行最多支付
  • 74%
    金融服务和保险业
  • 70.5%
    电信
  • 54.5%
    零售
  • 46.5%
    金融服务和保险业
  • 39.6%
    电信
  • 40.7%
    零售
  • 相比亚太平均值,澳大利亚消费者通过网上银行分别向银行、保险公司、电信公司和零售商付款的比例更高
  • 影响:由于在线交易量的日益增长和消费者对银行的日渐信任,反欺诈能力显得至关重要
澳大利亚
澳大利亚 澳大利亚
消费者对银行和保险公司的欺诈后服务最为满意
  • 相比平均59.7%的满意度,澳大利亚消费者的满意度超过70%
  • 影响:对金融服务和保险业的信任度有所提升
印度尼西亚
印度尼西亚 印度尼西亚
消费者在过去12个月内遭遇最多欺诈事件
49%
34.7%

亚太平均值

  • 至少遭遇1次欺诈的消费者比例为49.8%,而亚太平均值仅为34.7%
  • 影响:总体反欺诈能力需要提升
新加坡
新加坡 新加坡
消费者对政府的信任度最高
亚太平均值
  • 相比51.7%的平均值,75.5%的新加坡消费者选择政府机构
  • 影响:对个人数据保护的信任围绕政府机构展开
越南
越南 越南
消费者在过去12个月内在零售和电信领域遭遇最多欺诈事件
  • 55%
    电信
  • 54.5%
    零售
  • 32.8%
    电信
  • 35.2%
    零售
  • 在零售和电信领域,至少遭遇1次欺诈的消费者比例分别为55%和54.5%,而其亚太平均值仅为32.8%和35.2%
  • 影响:总体反欺诈能力需要提升
泰国
泰国 泰国
多数泰国消费者认为企业严重缺乏响应速度和解决手段(对欺诈事件的响应/检测速度)
亚太平均值
  • 相比47.7%的平均值,认为此项最重要的泰国消费者占60.5%
  • 影响:响应时间是实行欺诈管理,以维护消费者,获得其信任的关键指标之一
印度单列
印度单列 印度单列
消费者拥有地区内最大数量的购物APP账号
印度单列
  • 平均每人三个账号
  • 影响:对在线欺诈的暴露度较高
香港
香港 香港
对银行和保险公司欺诈管理的高满意度水平消费者百分比最低
亚太平均值
  • 相比平均21.1%的满意度,香港消费者表示最为满意的仅占9.7%
  • 影响:针对欺诈事件的有效响应亟待改进
中国
中国 中国
消费者对提交和共享个人数据的容忍度最高
亚太平均值
  • 相比27.5%的亚太平均值,中国有46.6%的用户接受与其他企业实体共享现有账户的个人数据
  • 影响:数据隐私暴露度和欺诈风险较高
alert
Japan 日本单列
消费者对数字账户和交易最为谨慎
50.7% 用户积极维持数字账户有效性
27% 亚太平均值
45.5% 不进行在线银行转账
13.5% 亚太平均值
  • 相比50%的平均值,日本超过70%的用户在过去12个月内未遭遇欺诈事件
  • 影响:相对较低欺诈风险

人工智能与消费者信贷

人工智能与消费者信贷

如今,几乎每天都有媒体提及银行或消费者信贷领域的人工智能(AI)与/或机器学习。鉴于你所阅读文章的作者观点各异,这项技术给人的感觉不是全球金融普惠的灵丹妙药,就是即将成为掌控全球金融的霸主。那么,这些新技术工具在消费者信贷方面的实际使用情况如何?近期到中期我们可以预期发生什么?哪些是宣传的噱头,哪些才是事实,哪些又是可以付诸实践的部分?

 

消费者信贷行业大背景

 

要回答这些问题,不妨以讨论全球消费者信贷的现状和行业机制为开端。了解和管理消费者风险是该行业的核心差异,历来都是企业亟需解决的重点问题。企业解决这一问题的方法是,遵循可预测未来的过往消费者行为普遍原则,并根据期望保持在定价区间内的风险阈值进行相应操作。这使得银行和监管机构创建了追踪消费者行为的共享数据资源。这些共享的数据存储库或“征信局”会整理消费者信贷信息。有了这些信息以及银行自身获得的信息,就可以建立预测“风险”的定量信用评分。这些评分通常使用各种能显著区分消费者风险的变量。通过使用回归模型得出评分,而回归模型已成为业界的事实标准。

 

 

过去10年间消费者信贷行业发生的变化

 

数据量的增长和相对低廉的计算资源使得消费者信贷行业在过去十多年内发生了巨大变化。此外,在此期间,监管机构还大力推动金融普惠。这些转变共同为AI的运用提供了肥沃的土壤。将这些要素纳入到大背景下,以亚太地区为例,在该地区42亿人口中,只有约12亿人拥有借贷历史,由此可见金融普惠更趋提上议程。然而,电信、电子商务和电子支付钱包的发展已经共同造就了涵盖约35亿人口的超大数据集。与此同时,摩尔定律在过去十年间使数据存储和数据计算的成本呈指数级下降。所有这些因素都为各种AI工具提供了用武之地。

 

 

AI如何助力消费者信贷?

 

AI带来的前景,是能够应用其计算能力发现变量之间复杂而微妙的关系,从而利用这些关系建立模型,将良好信用与不良信用区分开来。AI可以运用“机器学习”方法,再结合额外输入的数据,对这些模型进行优化,以进一步帮助创建一个良性循环。AI模型与常规回归方程的区别在于,AI模型在解释消费者数据方面所能实现的复杂程度更高。一个常规回归方程可能会使用8-10个输入变量来建立方程,以区分良好信用和不良信用,而AI算法往往会使用一个更丰富的变量集。它们还能够持续观察这些变量,并发现不断变化的关系,通过这些关系可模拟人类使用附加数据制定决策的思维方式。

 

将机器学习应用于消费者信贷的方法是,让一个以人脑为模型的“神经元网络”观察大量数据,然后用(通常)已知的结果对其进行训练。该算法对数据进行处理,并迭代形成一个模型,由其提供区分信用表现优劣的最佳界限。然后将此初始模型用于新的消费者申请数据,以预测客户信用是好是坏。这种学习模型的优势在于,它可以保持反馈回路的活跃性,在判断新消费者信用表现优劣的过程中酌情采纳附加数据。然后,该学习算法将增量学习整合到模型中,就像人脑建立学习的良性循环一样。

 

所有这些听起来都相当棒,那么这个方法有什么问题吗?这是否实际上只是“更好的诱饵”呢?答案仍一如既往,虽然上述场景在理论上表现出色,但AI在迈向消费者信贷决策的实际应用过程中,仍有一些问题亟待解决。

 

可解释性——更好诠释决策

 

我们当前看到的消费者信贷模型经过银行系统多年打造,是一个相当透明的体系,几十年来消费者都是在这个体系中接受规范的,监管机构也习惯于基于此模型管理系统风险。被纳入此模型的普通消费者通常对影响他们信用状况的行为有所了解,也知道他们有权要求获得银行系统掌握的个人信息。同样监管机构也有方法理解现有模型,并计算出系统风险以对其进行管理。

 

AI模型打破了现有模型的秩序,使其决策过程成为一个“黑箱”,在这个黑箱中,变量及其间的相互作用令人费解,而信贷决策便在此状况下产生。因此,该模型的输出是“不可解释”的,这是在消费者信贷决策领域使用AI所亟待解决的一个关键问题。幸运的是,这个问题并非无解。我们可用多种方法让这些模型可解释。虽然这是一个方法多元的复杂领域,但可以肯定的是,发展模型的“可解释性”正迅速成为AI并行研究的一个关键领域。实际上,将解释模型的过程作为AI模型开发活动的关键部分非常有必要。不过,也可能存在一些对可解释性不太敏感的运用领域,我们将稍后对此进行讨论。

 

偏差

 

消费者信贷模型经过不断演进,已经剔除了那些携带固有偏差的变量。这意味着信贷模型目前不使用诸如性别、种族等会造成系统偏差固化趋势的变量。人类以直观方式理解这些变量,并且有充分时间来发展他们对于这种偏差的理解。

 

例如,有鉴于男女薪酬不平等的历史,如果我们还使用性别作为决定信贷的变量,那我们所做的一切就是在帮助延续这种不平等。因此,我们在开发回归模型时一般就会剔除这些变量。但机器学习缺乏这种对历史的“理解”。它会使用所有可用变量来区分信贷。此外,我们前面提到过“黑箱”的比喻,这意味着我们在得到模型结果之前,很难觉察到这种偏差。因此,开发方法来阻止这些可能带来偏差的变量,对于信贷决策领域AI的发展过程非常重要。同样,有多种方法可以解决这个问题。一种简单的方法是引入预处理流程,以确保阻止那些带来偏差的变量。此外,可能需要在模型实际投入使用时引入进一步的核查。

 

应用领域

 

对AI在消费者信贷领域的应用加以考量的另一种方式,是清晰界定应用这些模型的领域,同时充分了解其所采用方法论的优缺点。例如,可解释性方面的问题可能不会对欺诈检测领域产生重大影响。作为银行业的一个核心领域,欺诈检测通常有一套非常规管理流程。该领域的学习算法可确保我们能够运用常见、可获得的大量数据流。消费者也可能更理解这种方法带来的系统性得益,因为他们最终将从更准确的欺诈检测中获益。其他更容易被消费者接受的应用领域为预测消费者生命周期事件,从而更好地开展直接营销活动。同样地,只要重视隐私问题,消费者可能会对这一领域的AI运用更为认同。

 

综上所述,虽然AI在消费决策领域的应用可能还会有其他问题需要加以考虑,但上述提到的问题是目前亟待解决的关键所在。鉴于AI的应用可以通过运用消费者数据来解决金融普惠问题,从而带来不可否认的收益,所有这些付出都值得我们投入。因此,问题不在于AI能否用于消费者信贷,而在于我们多久才能有效驾驭这些能力,以解决我们这个时代最大的问题之一——金融普惠。

 

Mohan Jayaraman
益博睿亚太区创新与战略发展总裁

 

阅读这篇文章

Mohan Jayaraman

Mohan Jayaraman于2020年3月2日发布

相关文章

金融机构如何提高信贷风险防范能力,做到高效决策?益博睿给你答案
金融机构如何提高信贷风险防范能力,做到高效决策?益博睿给你答案

益博睿大中华区分析与策略咨询总监赵国豪表示:“后疫情时代,益博睿决策分析服务将帮助金融机构采用科学化的管理手段,助力经济复苏。”

阅读文章
2020年全球欺诈与身份识别洞察报告
2020年全球欺诈与身份识别洞察报告

98%中国企业自信有能力以数字化方式识别其客户,却有45%中国消费者未感到自己被识别。

阅读文章
益博睿推出全新疫情影响评估服务,为企业战“疫”保驾护航
益博睿推出全新疫情影响评估服务,为企业战“疫”保驾护航

益博睿结合自身多年风控经验及丰富数据信息,帮助客户快速、批量排查合作伙伴风险。

阅读文章

想要了解更多吗?请填写以下表格,我们将有专人尽快与您取得联系。

  • 提交