New Zealand
New Zealand New Zealand
Consumers make most of their payments by internet banking
  • 74%
    BFSI
  • 70.5%
    TELCO
  • 54.5%
    RETAIL
  • 46.5%
    BFSI
  • 39.6%
    TELCO
  • 40.7%
    RETAIL
  • A higher percentage make payments via internet banking to banks and insurance companies, telcos, and retailers, respectively, compared to the regional average
  • Impact: Anti-fraud capabilities critical to the increased digital transaction frequency and customers’ trust in banks
Australia
Australia Australia
Consumers are most satisfied with the post-fraud service of banks and insurances companies
  • More than 70% satisfaction rate compared to 59.7% on average
  • Impact: Increased trust in BFSIs
Indonesia
Indonesia Indonesia
Consumers that encountered most fraud incidents in the past 12 months
49%
34.7%

AP Average

  • 49.8% have experienced fraud at least once compared to 34.7% on average
  • Impact: Overall anti-fraud capabilities need improvement
Singapore
Singapore Singapore
Consumers have the highest trust towards government
AP Average
  • 75.5% choose government agencies, compared with 51.7% on average
  • Impact: Trust of personal data protection is centered around government agencies
Vietnam
Vietnam Vietnam
Consumers encountered most fraud incidents in retail and telco during the past 12 months
  • 55%
    TELCO
  • 54.5%
    RETAIL
  • 32.8%
    TELCO
  • 35.2%
    RETAIL
  • 55% and 54.5% have experienced fraud at least once in retail and telco, respectively, compared to 32.8% and 35.2% on average
  • Impact: Overall anti-fraud capabilities need improvement
Thailand
Thailand Thailand
Most Thai consumers believe speed and resolution are severely lacking (response/ detection speed toward fraud incidents)
AP Average
  • 60.5% think it is most important, compared to 47.7% on average
  • Impact: Response time as one of key factors to fraud management to retain customers and gain their trust
India
India India as standalone
Consumers have the largest number of shopping app accounts in the region
India
  • Average of three accounts per person
  • Impact: Highest exposure to online fraud
Hong Kong
Hong Kong Hong Kong
The least percentage of consumers with high satisfaction level toward banks and insurance companies’ fraud management
AP Average
  • Only 9.7% are most satisfied compared to 21.1% on average
  • Impact: effective response towards fraud incidents to be improved
China
China China
Consumers are the most tolerant toward submitting and sharing of personal data
AP Average
  • 46.6% compared to the AP average of 27.5% are accepting of sharing personal data of existing accounts with other business entities
  • Impact: higher exposure of data privacy and risk of fraud
alert
Japan Japan as standalone
Consumers most cautious on digital accounts and transactions
50.7% Actively maintain digital accounts’ validity
27% AP Average
45.5% Do not do online bank transfers
13.5% AP Average
  • More than 70% did not encounter fraud incidents in past 12 months, compared to 50% on average
  • Impact: Relatively low risk of fraud

One in four consumers have fallen victim to online fraud in Asia Pacific

One in four consumers have fallen victim to online fraud in Asia Pacific

Consumers surveyed in six APAC markets are most vulnerable to online fraud on social media sites, a new Experian report shows

 

SINGAPORE, 21 June 2022: A new survey by Experian has found that a quarter of consumers across Asia Pacific (APAC) have been victims of online fraud, but across all markets surveyed in the region, many remain unconcerned about fraud and identity theft amidst today’s growing fraud risk due to digitisation.

 

In the six APAC markets surveyed (Australia, China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, and Singapore) in Experian’s Global Identity & Fraud Report, consumers in China and India appeared to be especially vulnerable, with 29% of consumers in each market having been the victim of online fraud. This is slightly higher than global figures, where nearly 1 in 4 (23%) consumers have also experienced similar incidents.

 

There are varying levels of concern by consumers who were surveyed in the APAC markets. While 45% of Indian consumers are very concerned about fraud and identity theft, only 9% of Chinese consumers feel the same way. Meanwhile, 26% of Singaporean consumers are very concerned about fraud incidents.

 

The report also found there is a significant impact on both monetary and reputational damage for fraud victims – 5% of APAC consumers shared that at least one of the fraud incidents they encountered has resulted in substantial monetary or reputational damage. Meanwhile, 8% of respondents’ friends and family also suffered substantial monetary losses due to fraud incidents.

 

Consumers are most vulnerable to fraud on social media sites and apps

 

The report found that consumers are most vulnerable to fraud on social media sites and apps, with consumers surveyed in APAC experiencing the most fraud incidents across these platforms. This is exceptionally high in Indonesia, where more than half (51%) have experienced fraud incidents on social media sites.

 

Consumers rely on businesses to keep them protected – but whose responsibility is it?

 

Four in five APAC consumers (80%) expect businesses to take the necessary steps to protect them online, reflecting global trends where nearly three-quarters of consumers expect businesses to do so. While consumers are starting to view online security as a legitimate trade-off for businesses collecting their personal data, they expect businesses to protect them from online threats that are too complex for consumers to handle.

 

Businesses globally are acknowledging the growing risk of fraud – with nearly half of all business respondents reporting that fraud was a high concern, and more than half of survey respondents from retail banking, credit card networks and consumer lending specialists categorising their fraud concerns as high.

 

While businesses are taking action to protect against fraud, there remains a gap between consumer expectations and the digital experience businesses can offer. Only 26% of Singaporean consumers who were interviewed feel that businesses have met their expectations when it comes to a digital experience, and 59% still do not feel secure when transacting with a business online.

 

Growing consumer ease and trust in advanced forms of digital recognition

 

A seamless digital experience continues to be a priority for APAC consumers, who trust businesses more if they can recognise them on a repeated basis without additional layers of verification. In fact, 94% of Malaysian consumers surveyed – the highest in APAC – are extremely to somewhat trusting of businesses that can provide a seamless customer journey by recognising their online identity repeatedly.

 

The report also showed an increased dependency on advanced technology such as artificial intelligence (AI) – two thirds (67%) of APAC consumers have interacted with AI powered chatbots or virtual assistants in the past six months. Overall, APAC consumers are becoming more comfortable with businesses leveraging AI – with 64% of India respondents – the highest in APAC – much more and somewhat likely to trust AI more than humans.

 

“Maintaining a safe and secure online experience is a shared responsibility between consumers and businesses. Consumers need to be aware of the risks they face online and practise good cyber hygiene. Meanwhile, businesses can leverage orchestration solutions to connect recognition, fraud prevention and their customer experience, and take advantage of a single platform to bring all their tools and data sources together. This allows them to adapt to changing risks and improve their customer journey. It’s all about striking a fine balance in keeping their customers protected whilst ensuring a seamless digital experience. Experian is committed to supporting businesses with innovative solutions to swiftly address emerging fraud threats and prevent identity fraud risks,” says Luciano Scalise, Decision Analytics Managing Director EMEA & APAC, Experian.

 

In the 2022 Global Identity and Fraud Report, Experian explored the growing expectation for businesses to recognise and protect consumers online, and the challenges businesses face in meeting this expectation. The survey underpinning these insights encompassed 1,849 business respondents and 6,062 consumers from 20 countries, including Australia, Brazil, China, Chile, Colombia, Denmark, Germany, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Malaysia, The Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, UK, and US. There were also interviews with consumers from Brazil, Germany, the UK, and US.

 

The Experian Global Identity and Fraud Report can be downloaded here.

 

 

Read full article

Experian

By Experian 06/21/2022

Related Articles

Experian outlines its ESG commitments publishing new global reports focused on financial inclusion, diversity and performance with purpose
Experian outlines its ESG commitments publishing new global reports focused on financial inclusion, diversity and performance with purpose

Experian is a company built on purpose. Every day we help people make the most of their data to improve their financial lives. This is what drives us.

Learn more
Mobile wallet use rivals traditional payment methods in APAC
Mobile wallet use rivals traditional payment methods in APAC

APAC consumers continue to embrace online experiences as economies learn to co-exist with the pandemic, but businesses still need to improve their digital experience to retain consumer trust, Experian report…

Learn more
Experian full-year results FY22
Experian full-year results FY22

7am, 18 May 2022 – Experian plc, the global information services company, today issues its financial report for the year ended 31 March 2022.

Learn more
Please complete the form below to submit a request. We will ensure a member of our team is in touch shortly.

  • Submit

在亚太地区,四分之一的消费者是网络欺诈的受害者

在亚太地区,四分之一的消费者是网络欺诈的受害者

益博睿的一份新报告显示,受访的六个亚太市场的消费者最容易遭受社交媒体平台上的网络欺诈

 

2022年6月21日,新加坡——益博睿的一项新调查发现,亚太地区四分之一的消费者曾是网络欺诈的受害者,但纵观该地区接受调查的所有市场,虽然由数字化导致的欺诈风险如今越来越大,许多人依然并不担心欺诈和身份盗用问题。

 

在益博睿《全球欺诈与身份识别洞察报告》调查的六个亚太市场(澳大利亚、中国、印度、印尼、马来西亚和新加坡)中,中国和印度的消费者显得尤其脆弱,每个市场都有29%的消费者曾是网络欺诈的受害者。这略高于全球数据,全球范围近四分之一(23%)的消费者也经历过类似事件。

 

受访的亚太地区消费者还表现出不同程度的担忧。45%的印度消费者非常担心欺诈和身份盗用问题,而只有9%的中国消费者有同样的想法。与此同时,26%的新加坡消费者非常担心欺诈事件。

 

报告还发现,欺诈受害者无论是在金钱还是名誉方面都会遭受重大影响——5%的亚太地区消费者表示,他们遇过的所有欺诈事件中至少有一次造成了重大的金钱或名誉损失。与此同时,8%的受访者的朋友和家人也因欺诈事件遭受过重大的经济损失。

 

消费者在社交媒体网站和app上最容易受到欺诈

 

报告发现,消费者在社交媒体网站和app上最容易受到欺诈,受访的亚太地区消费者在这些平台上遭遇的欺诈事件最多。这一比例在印尼特别高,超过一半(51%)的人在社交媒体网站上经历过欺诈事件。

 

消费者依赖企业来保护他们——但这是谁的责任呢?

 

亚太地区五分之四的消费者(80%)期望企业采取必要的措施在网络上保护他们,这与全球范围内的趋势相呼应,全球近四分之三的消费者期望企业这样做。随着消费者开始将网络安全视为企业收集个人数据的一种合理权衡,他们希望企业保护他们免受网络威胁,因为后者过于错综复杂,消费者自身无力应对。

 

全球企业都对欺诈风险日益增加表示认同——近一半的企业受访者表示,欺诈是一个他们高度关注的问题,在来自零售银行、信用卡网络和身为消费信贷专家的受访者中,超过一半表示他们对欺诈的担忧程度很高。

 

虽然企业正在采取措施防范欺诈,但消费者的期望与企业当下提供的数字化体验之间仍存在差距。在受访的新加坡消费者中,只有26%的人认为企业在数字化体验方面达到了他们的预期,59%的人在网上交易时仍然感到不安全。

 

消费者对先进形式的数字化识别越来越熟悉和信任

 

流畅的数字化体验依然是亚太地区消费者的优先偏好,如果他们能够在无需额外验证的情况下被重复识别,他们会更信任这样的企业。事实上,在受访的马来西亚消费者中,有94%的人(亚太地区最高)都非常信任或有点信任那些可以通过重复识别他们的在线身份来提供流畅客户旅程的企业。

 

该报告还显示,人们对人工智能等先进技术的依赖程度有所增加——在过去6个月里,亚太地区三分之二(67%)的消费者与加载人工智能的聊天机器人或虚拟助手进行过互动。总的来说,亚太地区消费者对利用人工智能的企业越来越放心——64%的印度受访者表示相比人类有点更信任人工智能或对人工智能信任得多——这一比例在亚太地区是最高的。

 

“维护安全可靠的在线体验是消费者和企业的共同责任。消费者需要意识到他们在网上面临的风险,并保持良好的网络安全习惯。同时,企业可以利用统筹解决方案将识别、欺诈防范和客户体验彼此联系起来,并利用单一平台将所有工具和数据源整合在一起。这使他们能够适应不断变化的风险并改善他们的客户旅程。这一切都是为了在保护客户和保障流畅的数字化体验之间取得良好的平衡。益博睿致力于为企业提供创新的解决方案,以快速应对新出现的欺诈威胁,防范身份欺诈风险,”益博睿欧洲、中东、非洲和亚太地区决策分析董事总经理Luciano Scalise如此表示。

 

在《2022年全球欺诈与身份识别洞察报告》中,益博睿探索了民众对于企业在网上识别和保护消费者日益增长的期望,以及企业为满足这些期望所必须克服的挑战。这项调查涵盖了来自20个国家的1849名企业受访者和6062名消费者,包括澳大利亚、巴西、中国、智利、哥伦比亚、丹麦、德国、印度、印尼、爱尔兰、意大利、马来西亚、荷兰、挪威、秘鲁、新加坡、南非、西班牙、英国和美国。我们还采访了来自巴西、德国、英国和美国的消费者。

 

点此了解益博睿《全球欺诈与身份识别洞察报告》的更多调查结果。

 

 

阅读这篇文章

益博睿

益博睿于2022年6月21日发布

相关文章

益博睿贸易评估机构:企业欠款偿还情况显示马来西亚经济有复苏迹象
益博睿贸易评估机构:企业欠款偿还情况显示马来西亚经济有复苏迹象

马来西亚中小企业必须保持资金流动性,以便在不断发展的经济环境中维持成长并获利。

阅读文章
在亚太地区,移动支付对垒传统支付方式
在亚太地区,移动支付对垒传统支付方式

益博睿的报告发现,随着各经济体学会与疫情共存,亚太地区的消费者接受在线体验的热情依然不减,但企业仍需要改善其数字化体验,以维系消费者的信任。

阅读文章
益博睿公布2022财年全年业绩
益博睿公布2022财年全年业绩

英国当地时间5月18日上午7点,全球领先的信息服务公司益博睿发布了截至2022年3月31日的年度财务报告。

阅读文章

想要了解更多吗?请填写以下表格,我们将有专人尽快与您取得联系。

  • 如果有某特定产品或其他事项需要我们的帮忙,请给出描述。
  • 提交